16 December 2017


Members and Guests of the Chestertown Volunteer Fire Company gathered at the fire station on Saturday, December 16, 2017 for our annual Banquet and Installation of Officers. During the festivities, incoming officers for the Year 2018 were sworn in by Mayor of Goldsboro Robin Cahall.


2018 Administrative Officers

President – David Eason Sr.

1st Vice-President – Phillip Lott

2nd vise-President – Michael Carey

Chief – John Darling

Secretary – Cindy Morris

Assistant Secretary – Susan Joyner

Treasurer – Henrietta Maloney

Assistant Treasurer – Bill Hildebrand

Chaplain – Rev. Leon Frison

Assistant Chaplain – Betsy Douglas

Parliamentarian – Larry Slagle


Board of Directors

Doug Ashley, Michael Clarke, Walter Coryell, Joe Douglas, Bill Hildebrand, Donald Hodges Sr., Claude Joyner, III, Jim McColigan, Seth Powell, Brad Russum, Phil Russum, Mike Sipala and Jeff Thompson.


2018 Fire Suppression Officers

Chief – John Darling

Deputy Chief – Brad Russum

Assistant Chief – Claude Joyner III

Assistant Chief – David Eason Jr.

Assistant Chief – Michael Carey

Captain – Brandon McGinnis

Captain – Phillip Lott

Lieutenant – Kyle Thompson

Lieutenant – Renny Grapes

Public Information Officer – Mark Mumford

Assistant Public Information Officer – Todd McGinnis

Chaplain – Rev. Leon Frison

Chief Engineer – Donald Hodges Sr.


Efforts and contributions by the membership were also recognized. As part of this recognition, certain members were singled out for the exceptional contributions they made in the past year as part of our commitment to “Service for Others”.

Firefighter of Year
Renny Grapes


Officer of the Year
Michael Carey


Additionally, long-time members were presented with service anniversary pins.
5 Years

Jason Lobley

Ryan Roberts


10 Years

Brandon McGinnis

Kyle Thompson


15 Years

David Benton

Brad Russum

Justin Parsons


20 Years

William Duley III

Louis Mancuso

Jacob Tucker


30 Years

Claude Joyner

35 Years

Edwin “Smoke” Joyner

Pete Lott


40 Years

Jeff Thompson


55 Years

John Mike Benjamin


Honorary Member

Paul Sterling
Life Membership is the highest honor the Chestertown VFC can bestow upon one of our members. Upon achieving eligibility status, the name of member(s) so eligible is presented at our annual election and is thus approved by the membership. This year, we add two to the Roll of Life Membership.
William Pinder

John Mike Benjamin


Giving of their time to accomplish the mission of the Chestertown VFC is crucial to our success. Below are the Top Ten Responders of 2017.


Top – Bruce Neal

1st – Kyle Thompson

2nd – David Eason Jr.

3rd – John Mike Benjamin

4th – Michael Wingate

5th – Renny Grapes

6th – Brandon McGinnis

7th – Pete Lott

8th – John Darling

9th – Michael Carey

10th – Robert Knoedler


We would also like to thank the Grasonville Volunteer Fire Company and the Singery Fire Company for providing coverage, so our members could participate in the Banquet.




Comments are closed.